Just a short one for today

The procrastination and apathy bugs have bitten me hard in the last week or two, and I’ve been having trouble mustering the motivation to write anything fot the blog, so today’s post is mostly an exercise in simply forcing myself to get some thoughts out of my head and onto my website.  A more detailed and well researched post on loan consolidation will follow later this week (I promise).

In the meantime I;m just going to make a few comments on random things that have been floating in and out of my head in the last couple of weeks.

First, What I’m reading:

Why People Believe Weird Things by Michael Shermer.
This is one that I’ve read before and continue to have around because I’ll always pick it back up.  An invaluable resource for the skeptically minded, Dr. Shermer covers a variety of topics from holocaust denial and intelligent design to objectivism and alien abductions.  By far the most valuable sections are those on how thinking goes astray and why smart people believe weird things.  This is the book that challenges me to be constantly and more importantly, consistently skeptical and always seek evidence for the things that I believe.

On the Line by Eric Ripert
An invaluable examination of the mechanics and philosophy of one the finest restaurants in the world, Le Bernardin in New York.  Absolutely fantastic whenever I need to know how good food can be.  for the uninitiated, it also provides a very thorough explanation of the logistics of operating one of the busiest restaurants in the restaurant capital of the world and making sure that every single aspect of the dining experience, from the moment that the guest walks in the door to the very moment that they walk out of it is second to none.

Marvel Comic’s adaptations of Stephen King’s The Dark Tower by various authors.
I’m a long time fan of King’s seven volume masterwork and I love seeing the story brought to this new medium.  It has a great pace, stunning artwork, and the new material is spot on in terms of voice and tone of the original works.  I’ve only read the first two story arcs but look forward to reading the rest as well as future volumes as they become available.

Second, my distractions (other than books):

I’ve long been a fan of fantasy RPG video games, especially the Legend of Zelda series, but just lately I’ve been spending some time (perhaps to much time) exploring the old Final Fantasy games for Super Nintendo, particularly the ones that weren’t originally released in the U.S.  I’ve taken a particular liking to FF5 and I’ve been playing it quite a lot.

In addition to these distractions I’m also seriously considering a trip back home to Missouri to clear out my dad’s garage of all of my old stuff.  I’d love to spend a week going through it, deciding what I can hock on ebay and either donating or disposing of the rest.  Now seems like it might be a good time to do that since I don’t currently have a job holding me in place, but I need to figure out whether I can offset the cost of the trip by selling my old junk.

That’s all for today.  Hopefully I can get myself together and write up a real post for Friday.  Hope to hear from all of you soon.

About cookinablackhat

I cook. That is what I do. I go to work every day and cook professionally and then on my days off, I cook some more. I love everything about it. I love the chemistry, the alchemy and magic, and I want to know more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

